TONA

STENCILART by TONA from Hamburg 

The first thing you can say about TONA: the artist from the beautiful Hanseatic city of Hamburg is on the road a lot, he has long been a part of the street art scene and he makes STENCIL art. His creative career began in the late 90's with graffiti, in the early 2000's he concentrated on the technique of bringin...

STENCILART by TONA from Hamburg 

The first thing you can say about TONA: the artist from the beautiful Hanseatic city of Hamburg is on the road a lot, he has long been a part of the street art scene and he makes STENCIL art. His creative career began in the late 90's with graffiti, in the early 2000's he concentrated on the technique of bringing motifs with pre-cut stencils and spray paint onto walls and various surfaces. Motivated and inspired by his experiences of many journeys, he also takes others with him on his onward journey. For example, smiling boys and girls from India find their place all over the world as STENCILS.

The choice of the motif

The templates for his stencils are, among other things, photographs taken during his travels. In this way, the curious observer can become a artwork elsewhere. In this case, however, his stylized motifs are not intended to arouse or inspire critical thinking, as one might perhaps suspect. The meaning of his stencils is not sarcastic or ambiguous. Using street art in public space as an expression for often political or denouncing statements is not primarily TONAS' motivation in this case. In his opinion, our environment and life itself is often enough unfair and hard, and people are already attuned accordingly, so that he wants to bring the viewer back from this way of thinking with his motifs for a short moment - to something positiv, beautiful and emotional. Let the viewer pause for a moment and enjoy something unexpected, perhaps feel a moment of peace and joy - if that is what happens, TONA has reached his intention.

Making temporary art sustainable

Since his works of art can usually only be found temporarily in public space, the artist also began to spray his stencil art on metal and wooden plates or as limited editions using printing techniques such as screen printing and linoleum printing on paper. He has already shown these works of art and art prints at numerous international exhibitions, for example in countries such as France, Israel, India, South Africa or Venezuela and cities such as New York, Toronto, Amsterdam, Berlin and, of course, again and again in his native Hamburg.

© Jerome Gerull

© Jerome Gerull
More

TONA There are 8 products.

Showing 1 - 8 of 8 items
Showing 1 - 8 of 8 items

TONA

STENCILART von TONA aus Hamburg 

Das erste was man zu TONA sagen kann: der Künstler aus der schönen Hansestadt Hamburg ist viel unterwegs, er ist schon lange ein Teil der Street Art Szene und er macht STENCIL Kunst. Seine kreative Karriere begann bereits Ende der 90er Jahre mit Graffiti, Anfang der 2000er konzentrierte er sich dann auf die Tech...

STENCILART von TONA aus Hamburg 

Das erste was man zu TONA sagen kann: der Künstler aus der schönen Hansestadt Hamburg ist viel unterwegs, er ist schon lange ein Teil der Street Art Szene und er macht STENCIL Kunst. Seine kreative Karriere begann bereits Ende der 90er Jahre mit Graffiti, Anfang der 2000er konzentrierte er sich dann auf die Technik Motive mit vorgeschnittenen Schablonen und Sprühfarbe auf Wände und diverse Untergrunde zu bringen. Motiviert und inspiriert durch seine Erfahrungen vieler Reisen nimmt er auch andere auf seiner Weiterreise mit. So finden zum Beispiel lächelnde Jungen und Mädchen aus Indien als STENCILS ihren Platz auf der ganzen Welt.

Die Motive der Schablonenkunst

Vorlagen für seine Schablonen sind unter anderem Fotos die auf seinen Reisen entstanden. So kann der neugierige Beobachter andernorts zum Kunstwerk werden. Seine stilisierten Motive sollen in diesem Fall aber nicht aufrütteln oder zu kritischem Denken anregen, wie man vielleicht vermuten könnte. Die Bedeutung seiner Stencils ist nicht sarkastisch oder zweideutig. Street Art Kunst im öffentlichen Raum als Ausdruck für oftmals politische oder anprangernde Aussagen zu nutzen ist in diesem Fall nicht primär TONAS Motivation. Viel mehr ist seiner Meinung nach unsere Umwelt und das Leben selbst schon oft genug unfair und unschön und die Menschen bereits entsprechend eingestellt, so dass er den Betrachter mit seinen Motiven für einen kurzen Moment aus dieser Denkweise zurück holen möchte -  zu etwas schönem, emotionalen. Den Betrachter einen Augenblick innehalten lassen und sich an etwas Unerwartetem erfreuen, vielleicht einen Moment Frieden und Freude spüren, wenn TONA das gelingt, hat er seine Intention erreicht.

Vergängliche Kunst nachhaltig machen

Da sich seine Kunstwerke meist nur temporär im öffentlichen Raum finden lassen, begann der Künstler auch damit seine Schablonenkunst auf Metal- und Holzplatten zu sprühen oder als limitierte Editionen mittels Drucktechniken wie Siebdruck und Linoldruck auf Papier. Diese Kunstwerke und Kunstdrucke zeigte er bereits bei zahlreiche internationalen Ausstellungen zum Beispiel in Ländern wie Frankreich, Israel, Indien, Südafrika oder Venezuela und Städten wie New York, Toronto, Amsterdam, Berlin und natürlich immer wieder in seiner Heimat Hamburg.

© Jerome Gerull

Mehr

TONA  Es gibt 8 Artikel.

Zeige 1 - 8 von 8 Artikeln
Zeige 1 - 8 von 8 Artikeln